>Marriage Monday. Communication

>

Here’s a good one. I know we do it all the time to each other. I’ll start thinking Charles can read my mind. I mean he should be able to by now. We’ve been together for alost 8 years, and married for 5.5 of them. I should be able to read his mind by now too, right? WRONG!
I know for us whenever we hit a rough patch, and I look back, there was a breakdown in communication.
I think we assume that since we do know each other so well, we should know what the other is thinking a lot of the time.
I know there have been times where something will frustrate me, and I won’t say anything. It keep bubbling up inside and I’m thinking he is supposed to know how irritated I am by now.
Or I’m huffing and puffing, he asks me what’s wrong and I say nothing, when it really is something.
Sometimes I’m thinking I don’t want to bother him with my petty problems or my big problems. I know he has his own stuff to deal with, so I keep silent, but then get mad because he hasn’t helped me.
Well, he can’t help me because I told him nothing was wrong, and then expected him to fix it by reading my mind.
He has done the same thing to me.
I don’t know how it happens, but we end up in this communication breakdown once in a while.
The good thing is that we’re able to get back on track.
When we have serious discussions, he’ll repeat back to me what he heard from me, and I’ll do the same for him.
Sometimes it’s funny because we’re like how did you get an orange from an apple?
It’s really helped. Men and women are so different, and we aren’t mind readers.
We have found this exercise to work for us. If we misunderstand each other, then the person will try to word it different way, or say no that’s not what I meant. There are also times when we get the other 100%
I notice our marriage seems to flow better and not seem like so much work when we both keep the lines of communication open.
That was my thought on marriage today. I hope everyone has a great week!
Clipart is from Webweavers Free Clipart

7 thoughts on “>Marriage Monday. Communication

  1. >Darcel–Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love your marriage advice! It's so true! Sometimes I will be just fuming and hub will have NO idea that I am even upset. You have to make sure to express your thoughts because 99% of the time the uncomplicated male mind wasn't meaning what you think at all!! Your blog is really cute, I especially love your background!Jewls

  2. >Hi Darcel — I love your Monday Marriage posts! Important topics and good reminders to all of us to keep working on this important part of our lives!You are right — men and women think differently and men cannot read out minds even if they love us! It always helps to be direct and ask for whatever it is you need from him (time, communication, affection, etc.). We can't fault them for not giving us what we need if we never ask them!

  3. >Darcel–Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love your marriage advice! It's so true! Sometimes I will be just fuming and hub will have NO idea that I am even upset. You have to make sure to express your thoughts because 99% of the time the uncomplicated male mind wasn't meaning what you think at all!! Your blog is really cute, I especially love your background!Jewls

  4. >DEB, I write him a letter, or send him an email. It's easier for me to do it that way sometimes. I can get out how I feel, erase, backspace if that's not how I meant to say something.He's not interrupting me, and he can read it without me interrupting him.

  5. >My husband and I have pretty good communication and we see so many couples that hardly talk to each other. If couples could only realize how important this is, their marriages would be so much better. Thanks for sharing this post today!

  6. >My husband and I communicate pretty openly, but I have a hard time articulating myself clearly when I'm feeling emotional about something. It's not always easy to find the words to describe what's eating you. Any tips for that?

  7. >Communication is definitely key. In the beginning of our marriage we both suffered from wanting/expecting the other person to read our minds. Things were not that pretty then! Now that we are growing in our marriage we are communicating much more openly and that has alleviated a lot of unnecessary problems. You have to admit though, there are more moments now when he does know something is wrong and can help you articulate it better. Hubby has been able to help me say what is on my mind when I don't want to. He just tries a little harder to be there for me when he knows something is bothering me and that makes me feel better about spitting whatever it is out.Marriage is work! Right?!?! But sooo worth it.Peace

Love Notes

