>A New Direction

>I am so excited, I can’t stand it! You may remember my previous post about following my passion
Well, I’ve decided to take a step further. I always thought I could only be a midwife if I worked in a hospital. I thought about becoming a midwife before we were even married.
Once Nakiah was born, the thought stayed in my head, but I would try to replace it with something else. So imagine my surprise when we found homebirth three years ago. Then I decided I wanted to be a doula, and that took me couple of years to finally pursue. Once I started looking into programs towards the end of December, midwifery popped into my head again.

I told Charles that my ultimate goal is to become a homebirth midwife, and he was very supportive.
Someone gave me some info on a program, and I can’t wait to start! I’m hoping to be able to start next month.
We figured that everything I’m going to learn in doula training, I’ll learn in the midwifery program. That way we don’t end up putting all kinds of money out several times for the doula course, and childbirth educator course. There are a few programs that combine the two, but since my goal is to become a midwife, why not shoot for the stars?

I think I’m doing pretty well so far in sticking with my resolutions. I don’t want to waste anymore time wondering “what if”

With this program I’ll be able to get the academic part out of the way while the girls + baby are still small.
Hopefully an apprenticeship will come along near the end of the course. We don’t know what the future holds as far as having more kids, and this program allows for plenty of flexibility.
My wonderful husband is very excited for me as well. He keeps saying he knew that’s what I really wanted to do for years, but he let me figure it out in my own time. It seems the timing is perfect. Doors are opening up all over the place!
This program will also help teach you how to run your own business. The plan is to have the course completed in five years or less. It’s a three year course, but you can get extensions, and you automatically get one when you have a baby.

I’m going to go through Ancient Art Midwifery Institute
aka AAMI. I’ve done my research and women in the program now, and the ones who have gone through it say it’s challenging, can be hard, but so worth it.
I’ve found my calling, and now I’m home.

6 thoughts on “>A New Direction

  1. >How wonderful! We need more midwives, particularly midwives of color. Good for you. A friend of mine is in the same program, her blog Life in the Birth Lane is linked on my page if you want to check it out.

  2. >How exciting! And good call choosing midwifery over being a doula. Doulas can't deliver babies, only midwives. You'll learn so much more this way. Congrats! I look forward to reading about your adventures!

Love Notes

