>A Broken Arm and Animal Jungle

>PhotobucketI still can’t believe that Nakiah broke her arm Tuesday. We were at a playdate, not even there for a good 15 mins before she fell. She was swinging from these things called twizlers, think upside down capital T.
She was having fun, swinging around, and the next thing I know she’s coming over to me with her eyes really wide, holding her arm, and my friends tells me she fell.
I didn’t see it, because my back was to her while I was pushing Ava in the swing.

My friend said she fell onto one of the bigger tree roots. Ouch! I hugged on her, and rubbed her arm, then she sat down for a few minutes holding her arm. I really did not think it was broken. She didn’t even cry! She said she wanted to stay and play. We put ice on it, and she played at the table with everyone else for a bit.
About 30 mins after it happened she fell asleep, and then I started wondering if it was fractured. I expected it to swell a bit, and it did. I should have known when she fell asleep it was probably because her body went into shock. She never goes to sleep unless she’s in the car, or here at home.

All she wanted me to do was keep the ice on her arm, and hold her hand. We finally left after a little after an hour from the time she fell.
We picked Charles up and headed to the ER. He ended up taking Ava back to work with him for a bit. After another hour of waiting, they took us back for x-rays. I couldn’t stand there and comfort her, being preggo and all. But two of the techs sat out there with her while I watched through the glass. Very sweet of them. They reassured her that she was doing a great job, and made sure she held her arm still.
We even got to keep a copy of the x-rays. The girls have been fascinated look at her bones this past week. Now Nakiah wants a book about bones, so we’re on the hunt for one or two.

Now she’s sporting a light blue cast for the next 3-4 weeks. She’s taking this all really well. No parks, or the beach for now , but we’re finding lots of other activities to keep us busy. We went to the dollar store and picked up foam swords, paint, playdoh, books, and flippity flops,  then went to another store for new socks and shoes.
She uses her left arm and hand with no problem. I know she can’t wait until the cast comes off though.
I don’t feel as bad today as I did on Tuesday, but I still feel bad. I should have taken her in right away to have her arm looked at. I couldn’t believe it when the Dr. said it was broken. I felt so awful. I’m just glad it’s a small break, and the cast will come off in time for the major summer weather.

Photobucket

We took the girls to a place called Animal Jungle the other day. It’s a really cool pet store. Around here it’s called The Broke People’s Zoo. They have tons of different fish, snakes, lizards, rabbits, hamsters, birds, and a few wild animals that we aren’t allowed to touch.

We got to hold and pet a White Corn Snake.
Photobucket

Photobucket

We checked out some greenery.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

They had two Blue Macaws. I couldn’t get a clear picture of them. The female was on sale for $12,000
I personally would not want one of those as a pet.

Onto the birds. They had three rooms where you could go in and get up close and personal with the birds.
The girls went into the first room for a few minutes, but Nakiah wasn’t feeling it at all, so Charles took her out, while I stayed in with Ava to get a look at two love birds in the corner, they were so cute all snuggled up together. I didn’t get a picture of them though.

Photobucket

This little guy was picking at Charles shirt. It was cute.
Photobucket

I turned my flash off to take pictures of the birds. I didn’t want to scare them. The one on the right looked like he really didn’t want to be bothered. I’m glad cameras have the zoom feature.
Photobucket

Pretty, huh?
Photobucket

I didn’t get the name of this monkey. We didn’t see him in there at first. He moves quickly and he was quite small.
Isn’t he so cute!
Photobucket

10 thoughts on “>A Broken Arm and Animal Jungle

  1. >She's not loving the cast, but she's come to terms with it. We go in for an x-ray on Thursday. She should have the cast off by the end of the month.Thanks for all of the well wishes and healing vibes!

  2. >Thanks for the well wishes everyone!She is doing so well. Today is the first time she's mentioned that her arm is itching. She likes beating her arm with a wooden spoon.

  3. >Poor baby! I can imagine how worried you were. I remember breaking my ankle when I was 8. My parents were out of town and I was staying with my best friend. It was literally 2 to 3 hours before I was taken to the hospital to get looked at. My best friends mom was not home when it happened. At least you were with Nakiah when it happened. My mom was an hour away.

  4. >omg, girl, i'm so sorry your little one broke her arm! wow, i can't believe she didn't cry!! she's a trooper. i broke my ankle last yr and wailed like a baby – lol. don't beat yourself up for not knowing. you are an awesome mom, and took care of your baby!

Love Notes

