Sick Days

The girls came down with a cough on Friday evening. Unfortunately for us when they get a cold it usually causes their asthma to flare up. We’re thankful that’s the only time it really bothers them.
We ended up going to the ER to have them looked at on Saturday.
Charles and I both have asthma so we know how they feel when they are struggling to breathe.
Nakiah said her breath was hurting. I know that feeling all too well.
I didn’t like the way they were breathing and they had been coughing for a while.
I hate that dry rough cough.

They have both been hospitalized in the past for respiratory infections. I didn’t want to take that chance this time. The doctor checked them out and said there was some wheezing, but nothing too bad.
We were sent home with albuterol for their nebulizer and prednisone.

Samuel had a stuffy nose earlier in the week, and a couple friends suggested I put breastmilk up his nose. I forgot about doing that so I’m glad they reminded me about doing that.
He was breathing better within minutes of doing it. He nursed more often and had extra snuggles in the wrap.
The power of breastmilk!

I had a sore throat and stuffy nose for a few days. Charles said his throat was a little sore.
So it looks like we all had a little sickness this week. It was rough, but I would rather have it this way instead of dealing with everyone being sick over a couple of weeks.

We had a playdate scheduled for today at our house, but I canceled it. Didn’t want to take the chance of getting the other kids sick.
Hopefully we can reschedule for one day next week.
Everyone seems to be doing better today. Over the past few days we’ve laid in bed watching TV together, read books, played board games, video /computer games.

Today the girls felt up to going outside in the backyard to play, so there was the sandbox, bubbles, dollhouse play, dress up, crafts.
We made necklaces and bracelets with our beads, and baked sugar cookies.

You can’t keep us down even when we don’t feel very well.

9 thoughts on “Sick Days

  1. Thank you all for the well wishes. We are all feeling much better.Chris That is the beauty of unschooling. Learning takes place no matter where we are and even when we don't feel 100%MOMSICLE – Unschooling is trusting that children will learn what they need to when they need to know it.We don't use a curriculum. Instead we learn through living. At the grocery store, the park, baking, watching TV. The possibilities are limitless!

  2. Hope you all are feeling better soon! My cousin has asthma and I know he feels awful when it flares up. Sounds like you are doing a great job of taking care of yourselves. And yes you gotta love the healing powers of breast milk!

  3. Thanks so much for visiting on my SITS day!! I love that you read my birth story – I can't imagine going through that THREE times!! I hope your little ones are still feeling better. I read your info page and I am intrigued about non schooling. How does that work? HELLO on the chocolate and pb 🙂

  4. Hope you all feel better soon. My kids were premmies so they usually need to use the nebulizer a few times during the winter. Thank God, my daughter only had a slight case of pnumeonia and wasn't even held overnight. It's great how with unschooling lots and lots of learning takes place no matter where you are and how you feel.

Love Notes

