>Guest Post Friday: My Son, My Period

>I am writing this as a guest post on Darcel’s blog because I am too
embarrassed to write it on my own. Here it is…

A conversation with my son:

Ezra, age 4: “Sometimes I like you, Mommy, and sometimes I don’t like you.”

Me, age 33: “Why don’t you like me sometimes? I’m awesome.”

Ezra: “I just don’t like you when you have your period because I don’t
like looking at blood.”

Me: “Um, okay.”

So, that got me to thinking about how much I share with my children,
how much I expose them to.

I mean, at what age is it going to become awkward to have my son come
into the bathroom and see me changing my maxi pad? At what age will it
feel weird to have him see me naked? At age 4, it doesn’t. But, I
obviously can’t imagine him as a 12 year old seeing me naked or
watching me change my maxi pad.

At what age does that shift take place? Does it happen gradually, or
does it happen all at once?

I don’t know.

On a side note, here is a video of the type of thing I subject my
children to… the poor things:

You can read more from Allison at Goofy Mama

9 thoughts on “>Guest Post Friday: My Son, My Period

  1. >That video just has me shaking my head!!As far as when to make the transition, I think your son basically just told you he's ready. I was just thinking the same thing with my 20 month old because he has a fascination with BOOBS (his word from my mother when I nursed him!) I think kids let you know when they feel more independent. LOL

  2. >Boy mothering sure has changed since I walked down that road. In many ways for the better but sometimes I wonder if it might be a little too much and like you said when is the cut off for such info. I think if I were a young mother today I'd probably expose my child to more than I did.

  3. >That was hilarious. Glad I stopped by to have a read. My daughters ask about mine but so far they are only a matter of fact about it. I'll cross my fingers that it stays that way for a little while longer.

  4. >Boy mothering sure has changed since I walked down that road. In many ways for the better but sometimes I wonder if it might be a little too much and like you said when is the cut off for such info. I think if I were a young mother today I'd probably expose my child to more than I did.

  5. >LOL!!!! Cracking up at the video. I especially love "the voice."Its funny, I asked a similar question recently on my Facebook Page (how old is "too old" for your opposite sex child to see you naked). I got varied responses, but they ranged from around 2 years old (which surprised me) to around 6. It was mostly women responding though. The one male who gave input said the lower end. He said he has memories of seeing his mom naked when he was around 2 and it traumatized him, lol. So that really made me think twice about my own level of comfort around my sons…. like, maybe I should start thinking more about their feelings instead of just assuming it doesn't bother them…?Anyhoo, LOVED the post. Very cute and funny! 🙂 Your little ones are good sports!

  6. >That video just has me shaking my head!!As far as when to make the transition, I think your son basically just told you he's ready. I was just thinking the same thing with my 20 month old because he has a fascination with BOOBS (his word from my mother when I nursed him!) I think kids let you know when they feel more independent. LOL

Love Notes

