>Q & A Part One

>Last Thursday I decided to share a little more of myself by answering my readers questions.
If you have a question that you would like to ask email me.

The first question comes from Tiffany.

Have you ever faced any negativity from family/friends re:your more natural parenting style?

Several years ago My dad used to frequently make comments about getting the kids out of our bed.
I was raised to sleep in a crib and cry it out. I explained to him that we liked sleeping together. We were in no rush to get either of the girls out of our bed. That was my answer every time he would make a comment about our co-sleeping. He hasn’t said anything in a long time.

I’ve taken dairy out of my diet with all three of the kids, because they have that allergy the first year or so.
Not too long after Ava was born, I was on the phone with a friend and I had asked her for one of her mother’s recipe’s. I mentioned that I probably wouldn’t use it for a while because I had cut out diary while I was breastfeeding Ava. She asked me why didn’t I just give her formula so that I could eat what I wanted to since she was about three months old anyway. That’s what she would do.

I said something like…. Breastfeeding is what is best for both of us. Plus it’s free. I don’t mind cutting one thing out of my diet so my child can have what is best.

Those are the only two instances that stick out in my mind from friends and family. I get more flack from complete strangers. I’ve had a few nasty emails since I started this blog.
If my friends and family have anything negative to say to or about me now, I haven’t heard it.

I have a pretty strong mama village in my life now. I really appreciate these women.

Do you ever feel as though you have to keep some of your parenting decisions private due to backlash you may receive?

Nope. This is my family. These are my kids. I don’t care what anyone else says or thinks. I see so many amazing benefits happening right now with our children, and family because of the way we choose to parent.

People are entitled to their opinion. I’m not saying that everyone has to parent the way we do, but I will continue to share information about the way we parent on this blog, and in person.

Did you always know that you wanted to be a mommy?

Yes! I was talking about this with my sister in-law last night.
I had talked about having 4-6 kids since I was a little girl. I always said I wanted to grow up, get married and have kids. Being a Mother is one of the most amazing, rewarding things I have ever done with my life. There are challenging days and moments, but I wouldn’t trade any part of this motherhood journey, ever.

I’m learning and growing right along side my children. I love it!

6 thoughts on “>Q & A Part One

  1. >Darcel you are a total inspiration to me. I love that you just stand up and educate people. I try to stand firm with my decisions but sometime I do find myself just saying nothing rather than face the criticism. Thank you for blogging and being supportive, it helps so much to know that I"m not a freak for babywearing, co-sleeping, homebirthing, breastfeeding, or cloth diapering.

  2. >My daughter has been asking me this question a lot lately (((Did you always know that you wanted to be a mommy?))) and the answer is yes =) ///I agree with Tiffany & Martha its awesome to find a strong woman that sticks to that which she believes in.

  3. >thx for answering my questions!! so glad that your fam/friends have respected your decisions. i have a very opinionated family/in-laws, who have already made comments on some things that we have chosen to do, so i know that it will continue as he grows. but dh and i have stayed firm in our decisions, so that has made it better. i can't believe you have gotten nasty emails though. not cool! but ditto martha! you are an inspiration to me, and i'm so glad i found your blog! 🙂

  4. >Darcel you are a total inspiration to me. I love that you just stand up and educate people. I try to stand firm with my decisions but sometime I do find myself just saying nothing rather than face the criticism. Thank you for blogging and being supportive, it helps so much to know that I"m not a freak for babywearing, co-sleeping, homebirthing, breastfeeding, or cloth diapering.

Love Notes

