Embracing Change

I used to fear change. I always worried about the unknown.
Now change is something I embrace. Being a parent has certainly changed me! If someone told me 10 years ago that I would have 3 children, two of them born at home, I would babywear, breastfeed, and unschool…..I would have laughed in their face.

I think embracing change helps me to help my children through their different stages.

Instead of wondering and worrying about what might come next I live my life.
Every second I spend worrying about tomorrow is time taken away from enjoying right now.

The kids are changing so quickly. They are getting bigger and smarter every day.

We were playing with blocks the other day, and I took 6 and divided them with 3 on each side of me.
Kiah took my 6 blocks and put 2 in the middle and 2 on each side of her.
Look mommy, I put 2 here here and here!

The other day at the park Ava was eating graham crackers. She asked me how many were left and I told her there were 3 left. She said after I eat one more there will only be one left.

Maybe I shouldn’t be amazed, but I am. I love seeing unschooling. I get it. It works.

Up until recently I had trouble understanding what people meant when they said ‘there are no typical days’. I get it now. Every day is different, every moment is different.
One day we may start off with breakfast right away and slowly move into playing, or head out to be with friends. Other days may start off with video games, or computer play. The next day may start and end with playing in the sand.

They are big into board games and card games right now. We’ve been playing checkers, bingo, matching numbers and letters.
Kiah wants to learn how to to spell words now.

I’m right here for them. If the interest last for days, months, or only a few moments. I’m here.
If they changed their mind and want to start again. I’m here.
I may not get it right all of the time, but I’m here, watching, waiting, learning, and changing with them.

My children are changing me. I’m seeing the world through their eyes. It’s a beautiful place. I can put myself in their shoes and explore with them. I am their partner in this journey.

Don’t get me wrong, parenting is serious business, but it’s also full of joy  if we allow it.
Sometimes change can be hard, overwhelming, or seem impossible.
I find it easier to change by taking small steps. One small change can lead to bigger change down the road.

The way I talk with them has changed, the way I think about them has changed, and the way I talk about them has changed.
I no longer believe my children are out to get me, or doing something to upset me.
This great big life is new to them and they are always doing their best.

I believe my children are good, curious, spirited, talented, beautiful souls.

We have a choice. I choose to embrace the change, go with the flow of life and watch all of the beautiful ripples we create along the way.

 

2 thoughts on “Embracing Change

  1. The way I talk with them has changed, the way I think about them has changed, and the way I talk about them has changed. I no longer believe my children are out to get me, or doing something to upset me.This great big life is new to them and they are always doing their best.I believe my children are good, curious, spirited, talented, beautiful souls.This really touched me. Thank you. I'll be thinking about that all day.

Love Notes

