>My Sad Heart

>

I was loading the kids into the car after grocery shopping. A older man came up to the car and told me he would load the groceries for me. I was quite shocked because no one does that sort of thing anymore, right?

He did want something in return. Whatever change I had to spare. He and his wife were on opposite sides of the parking lot trying to gather enough money to buy some groceries.
He started to tell me his story.

He is 58 and has been married 26 years and was recently laid off from the shipyard. He told me they laid off 140 employees. He said that all they had at home to eat were two packs of noodles.
He said his unemployment check had not come in the mail yet.
I offered him some of our food several times, but he said he would not take food from me and my babies.

He said he didn’t want to have to carry much on the bus on their way back home. He also didn’t want to put more pressure on his bad knee.
He said once they gathered enough change they were going to get back on the bus and buy food closer to home so they wouldn’t have to walk so far.

He stopped for a few minutes to admire the kids. He told me how beautiful they were.
The girls were singing to Samuel and he listened to them finish their song.
We thanked him and he told me that God is good all the time no matter what…..I couldn’t help but agree.

He thanked me and went on his way.
I had tears in my eyes as we drove off.

I will never again complain about not having enough food to eat.
Here we have a husband and wife working together out in the cold, trying to put food on the table.

I have so much to be thankful for.
I don’t have everything I want, but I do have everything I need.

6 thoughts on “>My Sad Heart

  1. >Isn't it amazing Darcel how moments like you've described really bring you up short? These moments appear to me out of the blue, usually when I'm feeling a sorry for myself, and when they do it's like God, or whoever you perceive the higher power to be, is saying, "See, you don't have it so bad after all, do you?" It's then that I slap myself back into reality and move on thanking the powers that be for my wake-up call!!!

  2. >I've been in that same situation, but I was younger and stronger. I can't imagine having to do something like that near 60! If they would go to a church, they would be surprised at the generosity:) May God direct them to a loving church family to help them over the difficult times.

  3. >Darcel, this is so wonderful. "I don't have everything I want but I have everything I need" … I love that! wisdom. Praying for the man and his wife tonight …

Love Notes

