More Peace

Welcome 2011. I pray this year will be filled with an abundance of peace, unconditional love, joy, faith, laughter, hope, and the gift of presence.

I have been contemplating what to write about all day. I would sit down and start typing then one of the kids would need or want something. Later I would come back and my mind kept going blank.

Looking back on today I see the year has already started off well. The day was filled with all of those things I mentioned above.

Right now I feel a bit out of sorts. Getting ready to move, not able to pack the way I would like right now. There are so many boxes all over this place.
I feel like I’m ready to burst out of my own skin sometimes. I keep telling myself this is temporary.
 
I want our life to be as peaceful as possible. No matter what life throws at us this year I want to know inner peace. I want my home to be peaceful. I always want to be that safe place for my kids and husband to come to. We can even have noisy peace
I am going to work on being a more peaceful person. If I’m happy, my children are happy.
I’ve heard comments made about our children pushing our buttons. Maybe they are reflecting what we are sending out.
In order for me to be at peace more often I need to start getting up in the morning before everyone else. I did it for a while before Samuel was born, but then fell back into sleeping in with him.
I feel better having that time to myself in the morning. I can contemplate, sing, blog, exercise…..whatever makes me happy without anyone to look after but myself.
 I will sing and dance like no is watching more often. Smile more. I’ve been told all my life that I have a pretty smile and I should show it more often. I’m going to give out more hugs, kisses and gentle touches. Take more deep breaths. I’m going to watch my kids more in their doing and being. I will take more pictures of people, places, and things.
I’m going to accept people for who they are. All of those things help me be at peace.
I know the more at peace I feel then it will naturally flow into the other aspects of my life.

So yes….I want and need more peace in my life. 

I took this idea from Stephanie at Ordinary Life Magic.
What is your intention for the New Year?
 

10 thoughts on “More Peace

  1. I often wake up between four and six am. I prefer nearer to four.It might sound crazy, but my morning time is soooo important to me.I write in my blog if I didn't the night before, read the others, comment if I feel that I have catching up to do, and then get busy cleaning.I like to have the children's rooms cleaned before they wake up (they don't sleep in there, of course. πŸ™‚ )If I'm up by five, then I can do some major cleaning and organizing before the first of them even wakes up – at around eight or so (Maddie).I love, love, love this time! Right now I'm doing some pretty heavy-duty cleaning (new year cleaning is like spring cleaning, except it's sort of a purification thing, too), so I'm hoping as soon as I get the house in ship-shape, I'll have time for yoga and meditation before anyone wakes up, too! :)Wouldn't that be nice.Four a.m. is so worth it. (And I'm usually asleep around 8:30 or 9.)

  2. There is no way I can get up to start my day at 4am. Sometimes I don't get to bed until 2am! I do admire all of you super early risers though.I was thinking more along the lines of 7am. Samuel will sleep without me for maybe 30mins, but I can wrap him to me and keep going.The girls usually wake between 9-10 and Samuel is usually up by 8/8:30Maybe I should try for 6am? It feels great being up before everyone else. The house is quiet.I know it will be even more awesome after we move and get settled.

  3. I often wake up between four and six am. I prefer nearer to four.It might sound crazy, but my morning time is soooo important to me.I write in my blog if I didn't the night before, read the others, comment if I feel that I have catching up to do, and then get busy cleaning.I like to have the children's rooms cleaned before they wake up (they don't sleep in there, of course. πŸ™‚ )If I'm up by five, then I can do some major cleaning and organizing before the first of them even wakes up – at around eight or so (Maddie).I love, love, love this time! Right now I'm doing some pretty heavy-duty cleaning (new year cleaning is like spring cleaning, except it's sort of a purification thing, too), so I'm hoping as soon as I get the house in ship-shape, I'll have time for yoga and meditation before anyone wakes up, too! :)Wouldn't that be nice.Four a.m. is so worth it. (And I'm usually asleep around 8:30 or 9.)

  4. My commitment to myself this year is to be a more peaceful person.My daughter is a reflection of me. I dont want her being depressed and unhappy person, I want her to be joyful and feel pleasure in the small stuff. It starts with me.Good Luck with Your Goal.

  5. Oh, Darcel, I love your list of how you want to be this year. It's amazing I've been to two other blogs this morning and both have given me positive vibes on how to treat and spend this new year. Happy New Year to you and your wonderful family!!

  6. What great way to start the new year and the new work week — peaceful and content. This will take you a long way. I really like that you have thought of a way to obtain that peace (ie: waking up before everyone else to have some alone time). Most people will just want peace. but you are taking steps to actually achieve your goal. Good for you.

Love Notes

