Homeschool Co-op

Last Friday was our first day of homeschol co-op. It went really well! We go every Friday from 9:30-2
I woke up an hour late. Charles said he snoozed the alarm, but I think he accidentally cut it off.
About two weeks before I got the girls some lunch boxes. They already had backpacks. They both chose Tinkerbell, so I need to write their names on the sides.

Kiah has AM Kindergarten, Learning through Literature, and Eco Art. I didn’t sign Ava up for any classes beforehand because she had never been away from me before and I wasn’t sure how she would react.
I took her to the nursery, but later found out she wasn’t too thrilled with that. I was told that she walked around the room for an hour not speaking to anyone.

I ended up bringing her back to the room with me. I’m the Kindergarten assistant for the morning class.
She had a ball! I felt so bad for not enrolling her in a class. She wanted to be with her big sister.
Kiah loved every minute of it. She is sch a great big sister. At lunch she made sure Ava had a seat next to her, and after recess she did her best to console Ava when she cried because she couldn’t go to the next class with her.
I took Ava and Samuel out with me to get lunch because I forgot to pack mine. Kiah was moving onto her final class when I came back. I went to the nursery with my youngest two and then Ava spotted the kids next door. She wanted to know what they were doing. They were playing with shaving cream! I asked her if she wanted her own class and she said yes, so I talked to the head of the co-op and got her signed up for Afternoon preschool.
She was able to sit in on the last 30-45mins of class time.

Samuel stayed with me the entire time. He was worn either on my front or back.
During lunch a women approached me asking me where I was from. I wasn’t sure what she meant, so I didn’t know how to answer her.
Finally she asked me if I was from Africa. I explained that I was born and raised in Ohio.
She went on to tell me how she had not seen anyone wear their baby on their back like that since she lived in South Africa. You know how I am about my wraps and babywearing so I was more than happy to chat with her about it.

That question throws me every time. You think I would be used to it by now. I’ve been asked where I’m from since I started wearing Ava in the wraps when she was a newborn.

Both girls enjoyed themselves so much, and I enjoyed watching them have such a great time.
It helps that I have other mom friends who either teach there, or their kids take classes as well.

On the way home I asked them what their favorite part was. Ava said making her mitten, and Kiah said playing with the kids.
I love that they have recess. It’s 30 mins, but it’s 30mins of free play. The kids run and explore the yard. It’s really really nice.

Charles and I were talking about possibly enrolling Kiah in Girl Scouts, or maybe a Karate class. Then Charles reminded me to not overdo it. He said what she has now is fine, plus the playdates we go on through the week(which I haven’t been in about a week).
He would rather we wait until after this semester to see if she has a need or want for another class. We don’t want to be one of “those” parents that has their kid scheduled from the time the wake until the time they fall asleep 5-7 days a week.

I don’t want a repeat of feeling rushed like I did last week. I think we arrived at 9:25am. That was wild!
So I’m going to bath them tonight, pack lunches and set clothes out.
Enjoy the pics of us heading out the door for the girls first day of co-op.

If you homeschool or unschool do your kids do any extra activities on the side?

2 thoughts on “Homeschool Co-op

  1. Hi Darcel…This is a question we are pondering too. I initially tried to enroll Bella in ballet, but they weren't taking new enrollment at the time. Same with a homeschool enrichment program. Then, we thought about karate…but this week got crazy so I didn't. And now I'm thinking…maybe I will just wait until the fall to see what she is really interested in. It's true that it's SO easy to overbook and I fight really hard against that. I want to let her be a child and just play play play 🙂 And at the same time give her opportunities for growth. It's a balancing act…

Love Notes

