hearts 2

 I know Valentine’s Day is over, but there is nothing wrong with celebrating love the rest of the month right?
As I stated before, I want to do more crafts with my kids this year. I thought making small heart pillows would be a quick and simple craft. I purchased some felt, a small sewing kit, fabric glue, and some stuffing.

I didn’t get pictures of how we started, but I drew the hearts on the felt, cut them out and then glued the sides down and left an opening for the stuffing. I was going to hand stitch the hearts, but that would take too long. I don’t know how to sew yet. We have what looks like an antique sewing machine, and I’m not sure what is wrong with it, but once we get it working I’m going to teach myself(and the girls if they want)how to sew.

While we were waiting for the glue to dry, the girls asked to cut up the felt scraps and check out some of the supplies in my sewing kit.

After the glue dried, we stuffed the hearts and closed the hole. I went through and closed any remaining gaps I saw and set the hearts down to dry overnight.

I’m really surprised by how well they are holding up. I am no Martha Stewart that’s for sure!
They are cute though and it was fun making them with the girls. I wish I had more pictures of the actual process of making them, but Samuel was crawling all over the place and getting into everything. He is 9 months old today. Can you believe it!?

On our way out the door Sunday afternoon the girls were eager to bring their new pillows with them in the car.

Kiah looks like she’s not too thrilled in this picture. I think we were taking too long to arrive at our destination.

They told me the next time we make pillows we need to make them bigger. I think we can do that. Maybe next time we can decorate them with jewels and ribbons.

Never miss an update. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook. Are you a mom of color? Be sure to join my Community for Moms of Color.

One thought on “hearts 2

Love Notes

