Sunday Surf: My First Edition

 Hello friends, I’ve missed you! I took the week off to unplug, and it felt so good. I did sneak back on to Twitter a few days ago. I’m loving Twitter more and more these days. It’s great for a quick conversation, or to just toss some of my random thoughts out. Lets not forget about building community….I am in touch with all sorts of natural mama’s and papa’s from around the world. It’s pretty amazing.

Even though I took the week off from writing I managed to get some reading done. I hope you enjoy these reads as much as I did. Now here are some of the best links I’ve read this week.

The Feminist Breeder has launched a new guest post series titled Letter To My Daughter.
Here is the first post in this series. I am looking forward to reading the other posts each week. This is going to be good folks, I can tell already. I’m working on my submission this week. She’s looking for more submissions from mothers of color. Come on ladies, help me represent.

My friend Se’lah is hosting Gift of jewels: a festival of love. I always enjoy participating. This time we are only sending postcards. You have until the 25th to sign up. Head on over to her place for all of the details.

I’m loving this post from Babble on Why I Prefer Midwives.
You all know how I feel about homebirth. If your pregnant, know someone who is, or are trying to conceive, this is the post for you.

My new love,#bfcafe. I joined in for the first time this past Thursday. It was great!  If your on Twitter please join us for a chat on breastfeeding every Thursday at 10pm.
The hashtag for that of course is #bfcafe. This is a GREAT resource for mama’s who are breastfeeding, plan to, having difficulty, or you want to share your breastfeeding triumphs. Mama’s helping mama’s…that’s what I’m talking about. You can read this post here at Best for Babes on how the #bfcafe got it’s start.

 Then there is this post from Living Montessori Now. Deb talks about her Top 10 Principles for Natural Learning. I love the Montessori philosophy. It feels so natural. If you want to know more about Montessori, Deb’s blog is the place to go. She has weekly activities, and a community forum.

Mommyhood: Next Right talks about breastfeeding while pregnant. I love love love when mothers of color speak out on breastfeeding. Rock on mama!

This one is for the dad’s. Bisonweb Inc. gives us his Top 10 “Dad” Things. He talks about all the fun things he does with his kids.I love this list. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too.

Another link on breastfeeding from another mother of color. I’m loving it! This one comes from Women’s e.news/Sisterspace: Yes we are still breastfeeding. Lets not forget about the FDA’s Formula Probe. All I can say is it’s about time. This is great news for all mothers and babies, but especially black mothers and babies. Click the link to read why.

 Why not…the last link on breastfeeding. The Motherwear blog hosted the March Carnival of Breastfeeding: breastfeeding and race. I wanted to participate, but couldn’t. Read all the way to the bottom for the other submissions. They are all very good.

That’s it. I hope you all enjoy your Sunday!

Never miss an update. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook. Are you a mom of color? Be sure to join my Community for Moms of Color.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Surf: My First Edition

  1. I'm glad to see such interest in the Letters to my Daughter. I have a private journal I keep where I jot down things about the girls. I haven't done it in a while. I think I'll start again. It's been a while since I've sat down with pen and paper to write a letter.

  2. Hi Darcel~Glad you had a good week off. We all need to unplug now and then. I gave up Facebook for lent, and although the first week was hard, I realize I used it too much and need to unplug more often.Letters to my Daughters…I will have to check it out. I have a private blog titled Letters to Pumpkin & Pooh", the nicknames of my daughters. My therapist recommended I write these post to "explain" some things that I am not ready to share with them. They are 20 & 22 and I don't want them to have to worry about Mom & my struggles, while they are struggling with school. I haven't accessed it to them yet, but they deserve to know and better understand one day.Anyway~ Good to see you back. Looking forward to more postings & have a Blessed week♥

Love Notes

