One Year & Five Days

It’s been one year and five days since Samuel came into our lives. It’s really hard for me to believe it’s been a year already. Those first few days after he was born, I would watch his movements and think to myself that’s what you were doing when I felt that. Pregnancy and birth are so magical. Reading over his birth story again took me right back to the moment. So many first for us with his birth. Our first waterbirth, my first belly cast and placenta prints, my first blessingway. All of it was wonderful. Memories to cherish forever.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Samuel has brought so much joy into our lives. The way he smiles, those big bright innocent eyes. He’s so kissable. Charles says all the time how much he loves his name. Samuel Royce-Alexander. We’ve had that name picked out since I was pregnant with Nakiah.
Samuel Royce because he’s named after Charles father, Roy Samuel. Alexander because we liked it.

Samuel – Name of God; asked of God; heard by God.
Royce – Son of Roy; Royal
Alexander – Defender of men

We really love his name. One of my friends was saying how much personality he has, and he really does. You can see it in his eyes. He’s so expressive. Even the girls can’t resist him. They love him so much, and he loves them. Since the day after he was born, every single morning they wake up and want to see what Samuel is doing.  Watching them interact brings a smile to my face. Watching him grow this past year has been amazing. The girls were just as excited as we were when he started sitting up on his own, pulling up, crawling, and walking.

I love that his main source of nutrition and comfort comes from me.He’s becoming quite the independent toddler. He walks around this house like he owns it. He commands the attention of everyone in the house. We don’t mind one bit.

Photobucket

I am so happy to have a son! He is more than I imagined he would be. Sometimes I feel bad because of how much I gush over him, but I can’t help it. My girls know I love them.
I just love him so much. I love to sit and watch him sometimes. I love waking up to that sweet face every day.

Look at how big he is! I am so excited to see what he brings into our lives this next year. I’m soaking up every moment that I can with him. This past year he has taught me how to sit and relax more often. I’ve learned to let a lot of things go since becoming a mother of three.

Babies have a way of turning your world upside down, but it’s a good thing, I think.
I really wish I could put into words the joy that becoming a mother has brought me. I never imagined myself in this place, but I’m so very glad that I’m here with my three beautiful children.

I’m so glad you came into our lives when you did Samuel. I love you more than words can ever express.

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook. Are you a mom of color? Be sure to join my Community for Moms of Color.   Do you love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

6 thoughts on “One Year & Five Days

Love Notes

