Aja From Kindred the Family Soul on Homebirth.

You may have seen/heard this video and interview with Tom Joyner floating around the internet the past few days. Aja from Kindred the Family Soul. She and her husband welcomed their sixth child not too long ago.  She had a homebirth(this wasn’t her first one) and that is what she talked about on the radio show. They discussed how  homebirths have increased by 20% for white women, but not for black women. How midwives are an option for the black community, many people don’t even know what a midwife is, and if they do know, they aren’t aware that a midwife could be an option for them.

I really enjoyed watching this video. It took me back to my two homebirths. I also loved seeing a black family talk about not only birth in a positive way, but homebirth. I know it’s not for everyone, but I love homebirth so it makes me super giddy watching this. It was truly a family affair. To me they captured what homebirth is really about. Letting mom labor, being able to move about, having the family with you if you choose. Being relaxed, feeling safe, allowing your body and baby to work together in their own time. Seeing the kids gather around their new sibling. Those are magical moments. It’s a beautiful thing. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

From Aja speaking about the beauty of homebirth.

For some reason when you say the word homebirth, especially to black folks it conjures up some vision of an outhouse in the woods, a screaming sweating mother and an old lady holding tattered blankets with a pan of hot water. I don’t judge though because I was once that person.

Six is It- Episode 6 (The Birth) from Sixisit Episodes on Vimeo.

5 thoughts on “Aja From Kindred the Family Soul on Homebirth.

  1. I agree with you, Tanashia. More midwives are needed all over the world. The midwives model of care is like no other. We definitely need more black midwives. If we see more black women birthing naturally, breastfeeding, being midwives, doulas etc… we can cut out a lot of this racial nonsense.

  2. I’ve read about them before, but have never been able to pull up the video. Thanks for sharing it. I LOVED it! My husband & girls watched with me. Even made me tear up. Been thinking about my own goal of becoming a midwife. There is such a need in the Black community. I KNOW midwifery care is the answer to the growing racial disparity in maternity care.

  3. That’s awesome! Do you know what that song was that they were playing.. :we are family growing strong..”?

Love Notes

