Generations

 

 

I took the kids up to Sonic for ice cream the other day and we met the sweetest old lady. Samuel caught her eye and she cooed at him for several minutes.We started talking and she was telling me how she used to work in a hospital, and all the kids loved her. She said that children were always drawn to her even though she never had any of her own.

I told her that I used to be a Certified Nursing Assistant. She asked me if I was still in the field, and I told her that I stay home with the kids now.
To my surprise, her face lit up when I said that. She told me how wonderful it was that I was home with the kids, and that was the best place for me to be right now.
I couldn’t help but agree with her.

She asked me if I planned on returning to the medical field after the kids were older, my response was yes and no. I told her that I wanted to be a midwife.
Again, her eyes grew big and she smiled, telling me how wonderful it was that i wanted to assist women in one of the most important moments of their life. And again, I couldn’t help but agree with her.

Then she started to tell me how her mother had nine children….all born at home. This time my eyes grew big and my mouth dropped open.  I told her my last two were born at home, she smiled and again commented on how wonderful and rare that was.
Her food came and as she was preparing to leave, I told her how happy I was that I ran into her.
She told me that she was tickled to meet me and the kids.

I wish we could’ve talked more. I wanted to know if she remembered anything about the births of her siblings. I wanted to know more about her life growing up. I wanted to know how seeing her brothers and sisters born at home shaped her views of birth then and what she thought about birth now. I had only known this woman for 10-15 minutes, but I was already fascinated by her. She had the sweetest spirit about her.

The older I get the more I believe that certain people come into our lives for periods of time. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about her since then. Maybe it’s because she was a older black woman who had some of the same ideals that I did.
Maybe it was because she thought my kids were cute….whatever it was I am forever touched by her without even knowing her full story.

 

4 thoughts on “Generations

  1. Aww, such a lovely story. She touched my heart too just by reading this, and I didn’t even meet her. It reminded me of a couple of elderly ladies we got to chat with when I went to the optometrist. It is so important for us to teach our young ones to always acknowledge and respect the elderly. Those sweet ladies mentioned how nice it was of me to talk to them because so many young people nowadays don’t acknowledge them. That made me sad, to think that those sweet ladies get ignored by society. We will be them one day. God help us.

    • Right! Respecting our elders seems to be lost on this latest generation. It’s sad. I love to hear stories from the elderly. Plus they hold so much wisdom.

Love Notes

