Recycling Crayons

I’ve always wanted to recycle crayons with the kids. I came across this post on Facebook the other day from Job Description: Mommy. She took the idea from another blog. I’m going to do like she did and refer you to the original post. Check out Counting Coconuts for instructions.

Peeling was the longest part of this entire process. someone suggested I soak the crayons in water – that was a huge help.

The girls didn’t really care what colors the crayons came out, they just wanted to watch them melt.

Waiting for the crayons to melt the rest of the way in their dress up hats….

 
Someone linked to LazyTown on Twitter so I pulled that up for Kiah. She has always loved that show. It is pretty clever. It’s been a couple of years since we’ve seen it. They don’t show it on TV anymore and it’s been a while since we pulled it up on youtube. I love their catchy songs and the colorful puppets.

Once they were ready we put them in the freezer for about 10 minutes, placed them on a towel and they popped right out. Two of them broke, but the girls use them just the same.
Next time I’m going to buy some molds….I can see cute stars, hearts, and whatever other molds we can find.

I think they turned out great!

We did more than color with them – we played tic tac toe and checkers too!
They also had fun sorting and counting them on the table. They’ve been treasure, cookies and prizes as well. I’m so glad I finally did this with the kids.

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook. Are you a mom of color? Be sure to join my Community for Moms of Color.   Do you love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

6 thoughts on “Recycling Crayons

  1. I've wanted to do this for so long, too! Have you seen the ones where people used shaped pans? So you could have car-shaped crayons and the like? SOOO cool!I have SO much room to be more crafty. My LO is lucky if she gets to color. I think you're doing an awesome job with your kids on the getting-to-do-crafts department!!

  2. I'm trying to be more crafty. There are so many great resources out here. My plan is to do something like this with them once or twice a week, we'll see how that goes.

  3. Oh my Gosh! We use to do this too! Never wasted crayons! We found that Crayola worked best, some cheaper crayons didn't mix well.So glad you found it, gosh,,, I would have so loved Blogs when I was a young Mom. I got my resources from other Moms, Co-Ops, and as a Sunday School Teacher,Pre-school Teacher & Scout leader, I subscribed to some awesome Craft magazines back in my day.

Love Notes

