Mahogany Monday: World Breastfeeding Week

 Mahogany Monday shows how mothers of color live a natural, mahogany lifestyle (i.e. breastfeeding, homeschooling/unschooling, babywearing , clothdiapering, adhering to a vegetarian/vegan diet, etc.) Share your link below in the comments and/or on the Ning site.
*********

We’re going on 14 months of breastfeeding. I am so proud!
We had some challenges in the beginning, and I’m working on a blog post of our breastfeeding story to share with you all this week.

This picture was taken a week or two ago. We had a nasty bug come through and attack the kids. Samuel found most of his comfort in nursing. When he wasn’t nursing, he was asleep in my arms or one of my wraps. I love our breastfeeding relationship.

I’ve looked into those beautiful brown eyes since the day he was born. Looking into his sweet, innocent soul day after day, hour after hour, minute after minute. It’s a truly beautiful thing. I’ve watched him grow and become more curious….I can see that just by looking into his eyes. He also sees into my soul.

He’s at the stage now where he’s doing the acrobatic nursing, you know where he doesn’t lie down completely, or at all. Sometimes he nurses while standing, sometimes he straddles my lap, sometimes we do the laid back nursing. I welcome it all. I love breastfeeding my children. I love knowing that they grow because of the milk my body makes for them.

How are you going to celebrate/promote World Breastfeeding Week 2011?

I have a couple of new posts in the works for this week, also some from my archives.

Be sure to check out Liquid Gold:Black Mothers on Breastfeeding call for book submissions.
The deadline has been extended to October 1st. Get your photos, essays, poems, videos in ladies! Don’t forget to share this with your family and friends.

Also check out Natural Parents Network this week. You can share your post on breastfeeding and read several others.

***

celebrate-wbw-npn-450

I’m celebrating World Breastfeeding Week with Natural Parents Network!
You can, too — link up your breastfeeding posts from August 1-7 in the linky below, and enjoy reading, commenting on, and sharing the posts collected here and on Natural Parents Network.

(Visit NPN for the code to place on your blog.)

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook. Are you a mom of color? Be sure to join my Community for Moms of Color.   Do you love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

One thought on “Mahogany Monday: World Breastfeeding Week

Love Notes

