How Do You Feel About Your Body During Pregnancy?

I love being pregnant, but not everyone feels that way. I love the way body changes, fuller breasts, added curves to the hips, and that beautiful round baby bump. My husband thinks pregnancy is sexy on me and so do I, but it’s not all about looks. It’s the process….women can grow, house, birth, and nourish. That’s so amazing and beautiful to me!

I’m always drooling over my pregnant friends. I am behaving though. I resist the urge to even ask if I can rub their belly.

Some women don’t like pregnancy because they say it makes them feel fat.  While it’s true that you are gaining weight, it’s for a very good reason….You’re growing a human being. Plus, you have a growing uterus, amniotic fluid, a growing baby, extra blood,breast tissue, and the placenta.

But, you can exercise during pregnancy to keep your energy up, help with depression, and  for the overall health of you and your baby.
Here are some of the exercises you all said that you did during pregnancy when I asked on Facebook and Twitter.

Prenatal Yoga
Running/walking on the treadmill
Going out for walks
Belly Dancing
Weights
Swimming
Pilates

I’m sure there are more, but you get the idea.

What about sex during pregnancy? Some women say ‘yes all the time!’ some say ‘don’t touch me’ and some can’t because their spouse is deployed, or they were put on bedrest for a while.
Here is a blog on Sex During Pregnancy.

I don’t know why people act like sex during pregnancy is so taboo. We all know that’s how the baby gets in there anyway.
Plus, towards the end of pregnancy the prostaglandins in sperm can help get labor going.

Do you sew, or know someone who does? Make yourself some cute dresses, or tops. Or you can purchase some of these clever maternity tops.

Get a new haircut, or maybe have a girlfriend get together for manicures and pedicures at home.

Lipgloss and mascara did wonders for me during pregnancy. At my Blessingway I was given Epsom salts, lavender scrub, and candles.
I loved pampering myself after a long day during those last few weeks of my pregnancy.

Tell me, how do you feel about your body during pregnancy?

2 thoughts on “How Do You Feel About Your Body During Pregnancy?

  1. In all honesty, my body is a major disappointment to me. For TOTALLY how IT handles pregnancy. I LOVE the round belly, I love the growing everything, I love the movement, and giving birth is the most incredible, empowering, enriching, aware thing I have EVER done. BUT. I am sick in pregnancy. I have hyperemesis gravidarum and this second time, the only way I can get out of bed or not vomit all day and night is by taking non-pregnancy safe meds which are prescribed to chemo patients. I feel like my body betrayed me, my living child, my growing baby, and my husband. Sorry for the rant!

    • No apologies needed! I have a friend who had hyperemesis with all three of her pregnancies. I feel for you. I seem to be sicker in the beginning with each one. My third was the worst.

Love Notes

