Irene Prep

This has been one interesting week.
Tuesday we had a 5.8 earthquake. I had no idea what was going on – one minutes I’m nursing Samuel on the couch –  and the next I notice the couch and the banister behind it is moving. The girls were upstairs playing and didn’t notice a thing. I wasn’t sure what was going on…. all I know is my entire house shook. It never occurred to me it could be an earthquake at the time.

For about 3 weeks now we’ve also been dealing with the smoke from the North Carolina fires, and then I read yesterday that they found mosquitoes with west nile virus right here in Virginia Beach.
And now we have Irene headed our way. I heard she had weakened to a category 2, but could pick back up to a 3.

We’re staying in case you were wondering – Yes I am terrified. I went to the store this morning to stock up on food and water, most of the canned goods were gone, almost all of the water was gone, but I managed to come out with enough to last us a few days, I hope!

The clouds looked so low and dark this morning, but now the sun is out and the sky is beautiful. It’s so humid though.

As you can see the kids will be very well entertained. Charles came home with a Toy Story 3 memory game and bowling set for them last night. I picked up most of this this morning. A few things we already had.

I’m trying to explain to the girls what could happen, but that is kind of hard to do when I don’t know what’s going to happen myself. Charles talked a bit with Kiah last night before bed, showed her some videos on youtube, he said she was most concerned about our house catching fire.
We’ve had some wild storms here, and our last one freaked them out a little with all the thunder and high winds.
The thing is, Irene is going to be 100 times worse than any storm we’ve been through before.
I can tell you what they are excited about….the power going out. They can’t wait to use candles and flashlights in the dark, they think it’s the greatest thing.

I’ve got all my carriers washed and ready to go for just in case. I often think about what I would do if a natural disaster happened. I always come back to if I have my carriers, the kids will be safe. I can wrap Samuel and Ava to me in one wrap, and that leaves one more wrap, and my Napsack(which I’ve been using this Summer and LOVE)
We’re not in a flood zone, but that doesn’t really mean anything when your dealing with a hurricane, does it?

Cleaning up the yard and making sure anything that could blow away is put up. making sure our devices are fully charged. Praying it’s not as bad as they say it’s going to be, but preparing for the worst. I would rather be over prepared(if that’s possible) then not prepared enough…

So for those of you who’ve been through this sort of thing before, how do you prepare your kids? Am I worrying too much? I just don’t want them to be freaked at the last minute because we didn’t talk about it, ya know?
I figured there was no point in bringing it up earlier in the week because they would ask every day if the hurricane was here yet.

I hate feeling helpless. The truth is we don’t know what’s going to happen. Irene could turn at the last minute, get weaker, get stronger….anything is possible and whatever is going to be will be.

Am I forgetting anything?

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook. Are you a mom of color? Be sure to join my Community for Moms of Color.   Do you love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

Love Notes

