Yarn Along

No reading this week, but I have been working on Ava’s blanket almost everyday. It’s come a long way from when I started it this past Spring.

I laugh at myself thinking I was going to have blankets done in a month! You can see on the left side where it’s a little uneven, but I’m hoping to fix that. I’m thinking of cutting some yarn and crocheting until it’s even on that side.

This is being done in single crochet using a size F hook. It’s nice and tight, partly because of the size of the hook – the other reason – I crochet tight. I can’t help it, I’ve tried loosening my grip on the hook, but then it looks too loose to me. Next time I make a blanket I’ll go up several sizes in the hook – also using a different stitch.

Snapbucket

I’m working on Nakiah’s blanket at the same time. I want to give them to the girls for Christmas. I know they’ve seen me working on them all year, but I’m hoping they will be excited and surprised to receive them as gifts this year. I really should crochet every single day to make sure I finish them.

Cute story: Ava was watching me crochet the other day and she wanted to give it a try. I grabbed one of my bigger hooks and her ball of yarn. Each kid has their own ball of yarn so when I’m working on projects they can play with theirs however they want. Usually they take the hooks and repeatedly stab the yarn.

Anyway….Ava wanted to know exactly how to start it, so I helped her tie the knot and start the chain. I held her hand for a few turns and then she said she was ready to try it on her own. she was so surprised and excited when she pulled the hook through all by herself and made two chains. She was grinning from ear to ear! She said Mommy, I’m making a blanket like you now!

I want to buy some new hooks. I found these nice wooden crochet hooks online. I was also looking at these jumbo hooks, but I don’t know if those would be too big for the girls.

How did you, or are you teaching your kids to crochet or knit? I can cast on with knitting. Maybe I’ll work on that with them next. They seem to really enjoy crafting with yarn.

Hop on over to Ginny’s Yarn Along for more handmade goodness, or to show off your own current project.

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook. Are you a mom of color? Be sure to join my Community for Moms of Color.   Do you love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

Love Notes

