We’re Baaaacccckkkkk!!!!!!!!

Hello good people! I’m so happy to be back….you can’t see it, but I have a big grin on my face. I feel refreshed, well as refreshed as a woman with three kids under six can feel.

At times we didn’t do much of anything, and other times we were really busy. It felt good to sit back and relax, focus on myself and the family. Not only did I stop blogging…I stopped reading blogs too. The not reading didn’t last very long, I couldn’t help myself!

Of course I came back with pictures of our adventures. You know what? I didn’t take many pictures over the past three weeks. I can easily take up to 50 pictures in a day once the mood strikes. I’m still using my camera phone and various apps to take pictures. That’s probably another reason I haven’t taken as many.

I’m excited to show you and talk about we’ve been up to for the past three weeks. Instead of one super long blog post, I’ll break it up into several. First up: Chesapeake Arboretum

I haven’t been doing a very good job of touring our city. I forgot all about the Arboretum’s here. Free parking and free to get in. Sometimes I don’t know what I would do without my friends. They remind me of all the goodness there is to explore here in Virginia.

A hay maze. The girls played in this several times while we were at the Arboretum.

Bean bag toss.

 Remember Smokey The Bear?

We stood in line for 45 minutes so they could get their face painted. Actually, I stood in line for 45 minutes, the kids ran around playing near the line. They chose to be beautiful butterflies.

 Halloween 2011…we have  the cutest little Zebra, A Beautiful Skeleton Girl and a Scary Bee.
 I got Samuel’s costume FREE off Freecycle, and the girls came from KMart for 50% off. I love getting a good deal.

The girls really enjoyed getting their faces painted(again)for Halloween. I did just what they asked me to. We have a ton of paint left so we’ll probably play with that off and on over the next few weeks.

Made myself a scarf. I’m loving this semi-chunky yarn. I used a size Q hook I think. Charles didn’t believe I could actually make anything with a hook that big.
I’m making some for a few friends back  home for Christmas. I hope they’ll like them.

We’ve played at the park, of course…

 My friend Whittney had given Samuel and Ava tomato plants for their birthday back in May. One plant didn’t survive, and this one is barely hanging on. I’ll do better next year. Our one and only tomato.

We’ve played outside with Pocoyo. He is getting really big. I think he needs a bigger cage and we need to let him run around outside more often.

Hanging out in the front yard playing golf, drawing with chalk, running around being kids.

Lets see…what else. Nakiah is in Girl scouts now. Tomorrow is her 2nd meeting. Ava can’t wait to turn 5 so she can be a girl scout too. For now she says she wants to do gymnastics, so we’re on the hunt for an affordable class for her.

Samuel seems to be in the process of transitioning from two naps to one, and mama is not ready for that!
He’s getting so big and I love him so much, we all do. He brings a smile to your face no matter how crappy you might feel. I remember when the girls couldn’t wait for him to be able to play with them. Now that he can I hear a lot of” No Samuel!” ” Mom get Samuel…he’s messing up my tower”

They do love him chasing them around in circles from the living room to kitchen. The other day I was listening to all of them giggling, and I thought I must be doing something right in spite of my personal troubles/struggles.

We’re also in the process of finding a church. I think I mentioned that before. Charles and I both grew up attending church. He didn’t like it so much because he felt forced to go. I loved Sunday School and seeing my friends. Things happened a long the way since we’ve been married and we stopped going for several reasons. One, we moved from the home, and since we’ve been here in Virginia we’ve talked about finding a new home church, but that’s all it’s been is talk.

Recently it’s been on both of our minds more often and we are committed to putting that talk into action. I want it for us and for our children. We both want them to have that since of community and faith. Even the girls have asked about Sunday School lately. I pray we find a place that suits us soon. I really miss that part of my life, and I’m looking forward to sharing it with my own family now.

I’m trying to decide what to do with my Website for Mothers of Color. I don’t want to let it go. I feel like it’s another one of my babies, and it’s growing slow and steady now.  I fear Ning may keep raising their prices.

I remember mentioning  a BlogTalk Radio show, and I have everything set up, but I don’t want to pay for the premium membership right now. I’m trying to decide what to do with that. If I leave it with the free settings I can record shows and others can listen to them when they want, or I can schedule a recording and have only 5 callers per show. Now saying I would have 100’s of people calling in, but it would be nice to have a wider choice of time slots available.  

So much I want to do, and so much I’m thinking about.

I’m learning to be content on mothering and doing work that will fit into this part of my life right now. Nothing else I can do is more important than mothering right now anyway.  Mothering, being a wife,  and homeschooling keeps me plenty busy. I’ll fit in what I can when I can, and everything else can wait.    

I am so happy to be blogging again. I’ve missed it. It’s like therapy for me. A place to share the best parts of our lives, talk about my happy and not so  happy moments as a mother. I really do love this community, my community.

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook.  Love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

Love Notes

