hike, hike, hike….we’re walking through the woods

If you know me well you know that I am not a nature girl. I don’t camp, hike, or any of that other stuff. I enjoy being outdoors, but only at certain times. I don’t like it when it’s too hot/cold. You already know I don’t like bugs of any kind. Yet it was my idea to go on a walking trail with the family not too long ago.

There is a really awesome park here called First Landing State Park.
It’s huge at over 2,ooo acres. Tons of trails for walking, or biking. They have cabins, and I’ve also seen people out there in their boats.

My idea of camping is in a cabin, so I may be up for that one day in the future. As I was saying…I wanted to go on the trails with the family because I know the girls love that kind of stuff.

 The girls sang this song from Ni Hao Kai-lan whenever they weren’t stopping to observe their surroundings. Hike, hike, hike….we’re walking through the woods. Hike, hike, hike…with our friends it sure feels good.

We talked about these berries, and the girls came to the conclusion that the birds eat them, and probably bugs do too. They wanted to try some, but Charles and I didn’t think that was a good idea.  They thought they looked like blue berries….maybe tasted like them too!

I’m not sure what kind of mushroom this is. I googled big white mushroom and I’m pretty sure that was too broad. We didn’t let the kids touch them and assumed they were poison, but they were all over that trail.

You know what else was all over the trail? Mosquitoes! I kept hearing this loud buzzing in my ear and asked Charles what it was. I was a little freaked out when he told me it was the mosquitoes. They were huge! Thankfully the kids were covered pretty well…I forgot my bug spray at home. I really wasn’t thinking when I planned this trip. We weren’t very well prepared, but rolled with it anyway. The kids were enjoying themselves and that’s all that mattered.

Charles said we could turn back and leave if I wanted, but I was pushing on for the kids. I wasn’t gonna be a wuss! You have no idea the amount of anxiety I felt walking along that trail thinking of all the bugs that might try to feast on me, but I was able to eventually put all of that out of my mind and enjoy the time with my family.

Kiah spotted this tre stump and said it looked like a pair of pants, or a V, or a Y. What do you think?

We think this damage could’ve been caused by Hurricane Irene this past Summer. Maybe it’s just me, but I find this piece of destruction beautiful in it’s own way.

There were all kinds of toads and frogs in the water underneath this bridge, but I couldn’t get a clear shot of them.
That water was thick and black…we all agreed that it was quite disgusting.
 We pondered on what may live in that water before moving on.

On the way out we saw some pretty Magnolia Trees. I’ve seen these trees all over the place here in Virginia, but had never seen the buds or blooms on them. I googled a few images and they are really beautiful.

We also saw several Daddy Longlegs, ants of all shades and sizes. The girls enjoyed all of the people and their dogs that passed us, asking if they could pet the dog almost every time. Believe it or not, I’m actually looking forward to going on more of the trails with the family. I think this city girl is coming around.

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way.  Follow me on Twitter at MahoganyWayMama, or like my page on Facebook. Love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

Love Notes

