The Gift of Presence

Welcome to the December Mindful Mama Carnival: Staying Mindful During the Holiday Season
This post was written for inclusion in the Mindful Mama Carnival hosted by Becoming Crunchy and TouchstoneZ. This month our participants have shared how they stay mindful during the holiday season. Please read to the end to find a list of links to the other carnival participants.
***

Mindful Mama Carnival

The most important gift I can give my family this year is myself. I don’t know about you, but it can be easy for me to get wrapped up in how many presents the kids get…. Are we getting them enough? Is the house up to par with the decorations?

The truth is that none of that matters if I’m not giving them my time and love. I’m not talking about being in the same room with them while they play, or on the same  floor of the house. But putting everything else out of my mind. Living in that moment with them. Whatever the moment may be.

You see, I have this thing I struggle with, I’m a perfectionist. Not so much about the appearance of my kids, or the hair and clothes, but in my ideas of how things should go.
I’ve been this way for as long as I can remember. I get an idea in my head of how I imagine events will turn out, and when they don’t, it freaks me out. Sends me into a fit of anxiety.
That right there takes me out of the moment so fast. I’m trying to put all thoughts of how I think this Christmas is going to go out of my head.

The magic and memories aren’t in how the ornaments we make turn out, if the turkey is just so, how many presents the kids have or don’t have. The magic and memories are in the time we spend together doing these activities.
The laughing, the singing, and dancing to Christmas music. The way Samuel looks at the Christmas tree, because last year he didn’t care too much about it.
It’s the look of wonder and amazement Ava had in her eyes when she sat on Santa’s lap. The joy in Kiah’s face as she colors in her circle for the day on the Advent calendar I made for her.
Decorating the tree as a family like we do every year. Who cares if the tree is bottom heavy with ornaments from the kids!

No matter what, I always want them to remember the memories we made in the moments. We’re hosting Christmas at our house this year, and I hope that everyone remembers and enjoys our presence.

***
Mindful Mama Carnival -- Becoming Crunchy and TouchstoneZ Visit The Mindful Mama Homepage to find out how you can participate in the next Mindful Mama Carnival!
On Carnival day, please follow along on Twitter using the handy #MindMaCar hastag. You can also subscribe to the Mindful Mama Twitter List and Mindful Mama Participant Feed.
Please take time to read the submissions by the other carnival participants:

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way. Like my page on Facebook.  Are you a Mom of Color? Join us at my Community for Mothers of Color. Love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

Love Notes

