the little things

Charles didn’t have to go into work until later in the day, so we decided to take the kids to lunch.
The weather has changed here, and it’s been in the 40’s or below this week. Oddly enough, today is supposed to be in the 60’s. That’s Virginia weather for ya.

Samuel in the scarf I made him. Charles said he looked like a little British boy.

The kids were more interested in the passing traffic. Whenever the girls see a car passing another one, they say they’re racing. It does seem that way…..people seems to always be in a rush around here.

Kiah started this thing recently called packing up. She grabs one of her purses, fills it with goodies, puts on sunglasses, and then she’s all packed up and ready to go. So you know Ava does pretty much whatever her sister does.

Bath time is a nice transition for them after all the exploring they do all day. Do your kids love water play like mine do? I guess they figure since it’s too cold for the beach, they can get their water play in at the sink, the table, the kitchen set. I cleaned up so much water off the kitchen/dining room area floor yesterday.

I had to perform surgery on Ava’s pink bear. She tore a small hole near the arm. while I was doing that I figured I would put the heart back since that was torn too. Silly me, I didn’t ask her first….so when I gave her the newly patched up bear, she melts into tears because she didn’t want the heart fixed.

I just looked at her in amazement for a few seconds. Easy fix though, grab the scissors and cut it off. Partially patched bear just the way she wanted it.

Watching Walking With Dinosaurs: Allosaurus. Kiah has really been into these documentaries lately. We have dinosaur flashcards, and the Allosaurus is in that lot. she was very excited to see him come to life on the screen.

There has also been:

a new purchase of More Starfall. It’s only $35 for a year, and all three kids are loving it. There’s something for everyone. Samuel likes the motion songs most.
Ava enjoys the word machine, and Kiah likes Talking Library.

Also…

coloring
reading
exploring our visual atlas from the library
Wii play
painting

oh, and Kiah has her first cookie rally with the Girl Scouts tonight, exciting!
There’s lots more…. but I need to get to the grocery store.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way. and like my page on Facebook. Are you a Mahogany Mama? Join us at my Community for Mothers of Color. Love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

Love Notes

