the arts

My friend Dee told me about the Virginia Beach MOCA {Museum of Contemporary Art}
I was looking at some art classes for the girls a couple weekends ago, and then she told me they were having a homeschool open house last Friday and today. I wanted to go with her Friday, but our homeschool co-op is back in session for the semester.

I wasn’t sure if I would be able to make it out there today….our van needs some work. It’s making a horrid sound when we drive. I decided last minute to load the kids up so we could go check the place out.
It was from 10-12 and we arrived closer to 11am. When Samuel was younger I made much better time, now that he’s older, I run late almost all of the time. Gotta do better on that.

We ran into some of our friends as soon as we entered….that’s always a nice surprise!

Our first stop was making our very own trading cards. Both girls had made cards with a China theme. Ava also made a giant card with some Egyptian symbols on it. I realized sometime after we left the museum that they left their cards there. Bummer. We did bring home the print out for making more trading cards.

After viewing some of the wild, creative, and beautiful art by Robert Sites, we headed to the kids section.

There was this interesting contraption that had all sorts of pipe cleaners woven through it. They had a ball with that for a while.

They flipped through books, watched a man make a lobster out of glass on the tv, did some drawing, and made an impressive castle out of foam blocks.


I didn’t get any pictures of the actual art on the walls. Maybe next time. We really enjoyed ourselves for the short time we were there. I’m thinking of signing the girls up for some of their art classes. I don’t know. Ava wants to do Ballet, Kiah has decided on Soccer, plus she has Girl Scouts, and Ava wants to join Girl Scouts this Summer when she turns five. I have my own projects I’m working on.
I don’t want to spread myself too thin.

The girls aren’t really asking for certain types of classes, but my friends are telling me about all of these great classes, and I know the girls would enjoy them. Then there’s finances. I’m always looking for inexpensive activities for the kids, and thankfully we have a lot of options here in Virginia. Still, trying to do too much at once cane make things expensive quickly.

Note to self: we don’t have to do everything at once!

There’s plenty to do and the year is just starting. I’m supposed to be making a list of all the things we want to do this year. That way I can plan better. I used to be so organized! I’ll figure it out.

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way. and like my page on Facebook. Are you a Mahogany Mama? Join us at my Community for Mothers of Color. Love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

Love Notes

