Mama’s Timeout

As mother’s we’re often busy taking care of everyone else, and rarely do we take the time to do something for ourselves.
It can be 30 minutes – or two hours. Taking this time recharges my soul, and helps me to be a better mother.
Link up your blog post or photo sharing the mama’s timeout you took for yourself this week.

******

This has been one of those weeks. I am so physically and emotionally drained right now.
Monday I was all set to attend the weekly Mocha Moms Meeting….I have yet to attend weekly, but you know how that goes.
Early that morning, Samuel woke up coughing, snottin’ and sneezin’ . We did not sleep well that night.
I ended up staying home Monday.

Tuesday: Kiah had her first soccer practice and she loved it! I’m so glad she’s enjoying herself so far.
After practice we drove to the other side of town for Girl Scouts. After that I drove back home to grab the two littlest ones, and then it was back out to pick up Charles.
Wish I could say we slept better that night….. but…. well….you know.

Wednesday, I can’t even remember what happened that day right now! That’s what kind of week it’s been around here.

Thursday: I drove out to meet my friend Dee for a playdate. We played at a new and very cool park on the beach. The girls declared it their new favorite park.  So glad she asked us out, if not, I don’t think I would’ve handled the latter part of the day as well as I did.

Thursday Evening: After the playdate, it was to the sports store for socks for soccer, a quick bite to eat, then back home to get ready for soccer practice and ballet. Ava normally has ballet on Saturday, but she wasn’t feeling well last week, so she had a makeup class Thursday.
I drove Kiah to soccer practice in rush hour traffic, dropped her off, and my dad stayed with her. I then drove Ava to ballet class, dropped her off and left a note with the instructor in case she needed me. I’m not going to get into all of the details that happened in between those two places….just know it wasn’t pleasant, and it made me not want to drive at all on Friday.

Back to pick up Kiah after I drop Ava off….again, in rush hour traffic. Have I ever mentioned that people in Virginia can’t drive? It’s like the indy 500 on steroids out there! There’s no prize, and I really don’t understand why they drive the way they do. Riding on your tail, cutting you off, honking the nano second the light turns green…can I accelerate with my foot please? As much as I wish I could use The Force to drive….I can’t.

Right about now you’re probably thinking ” I thought she said she wasn’t getting into the details”
Trust me, I didn’t.

Where was I? Right, driving back to pick up Kiah. I finally make my way back to her, and she hops out of my Dads van all excited because she kicked a goal in practice. Yay! I was excited for her. But had to rush her back into our van so I could pick up Ava.
I made it back with about two minutes to spare before her class let out. She never knew I was gone. We can’t watch them anyway….it distracts the class, so the parents wait out in the lobby.

Charles ended up catching the bus home. He got off at five, but I couldn’t pick him up due to the activities. He came home with this for me….

This was because I had a rough last half of the day. That was so sweet of him.

Friday: This was the most emotionally taxing day I’ve had in a long time. It wasn’t because of my children either!
We had homeschool co-op, and that was enjoyable, even though we were late(again).

I read some racially charged threads on Facebook….regarding Beyonce and breastfeeding. My head is still spinning from reading those comments.  That’s all I’ll say about that. If I go on I may start ranting, and I’m saving that for another blog post on my other blog.

As you can see, I am one worn down mama, and I said all of that so you can understand why my Mama’s Timeout this week is so important to me.

New loofah, bodywash, and old Epsom Salt…that stuff doesn’t expire, right? I’m glad I was able to use the salt before the girls poured water into the container.

Baths and showers are like stolen moments for me…. I need to start breaking out the candles and music.

Were you able to have a Mama’s Timeout this week?

document.write(”);

Stay up to date on the latest happenings. Subscribe to The Mahogany Way. and like my page on Facebook. Are you a Mahogany Mama? Join us at my Community for Mothers of Color. Love to talk birth? Come see me at The Birth Cafe.

Love Notes

