The Very Beginnings of Our Garden

image

The photo above photo is our future garden spot. I posted on Facebook that I was looking for cinder blocks. We rent and our landlord doesn’t want us breaking the ground. Fine by me!

So I had several friends respond letting me know that I could have the cinder blocks for free. That made Mr very happy. It’s looking like I’ll stay under budget to start our garden. I purchased seeds yesterday. Now I need some Miracle Grow. All you garden experts may be cringing, but I kill almost everything, and miracle grow makes me feel secure that I can grow this garden.

image

image

image

image

We all love our new backyard so much. One of my friends gave me an idea…we have a water table that we could use for the kids garden. Just drill some holes in it. The kids are excited about that.

image

Our front and back yard need lots of work. Over grown trees, weeds, vines. But don’t my cinder blocks look pretty sitting there…..waiting to be setup for a raised bed garden?

I have several more to pick up from two different friends over the next two weeks. I’m a little annoyed that I’m getting such a late start, but at least I’m giving it a go.

Oh, the seeds! Tomato, carrot, pepper, lettuce. I still need to get Marigolds, strawberries, some herbs, and leafy greens.

Hope I’m not doing too much for a beginner.
Any tips, suggestions, advice?

****

P.S. still blogging from my phone. Just made the move from Blogger to WordPress. I apologize if things are out of sorts.

6 thoughts on “The Very Beginnings of Our Garden

  1. Darcel, the house we’re moving into has TONS of mint…plenty to share! 😉 Ae you composting as well?

    • I keep forgetting we’re going to be neighbors soon! I would love some mint, thanks so much 🙂

      I want to start composting. Looking at different containers on Craigslist. There’s so much to do!

  2. Congratulations! 🙂
    Ask your gardening friends (or neighbors) if they have anything they’d like to get rid of (or have less of) Many herbs (the mints, for example, peppermint, catnip, lemon balm) and flowers spread quickly, and they might be more than willing to dig you up some–or offer to do the digging yourself.
    I think people will be excited for you with your first gardening venture–they’ll probably be more than happy to help and offer you their extras! 🙂

    • That’s a very good idea! I’m picking up some flowers this week from a friend. I’ll start asking my other gardening friends if they have anything.

    • That is just what I need. Thanks! The book I’m reading talks about what grows well with what, and gives an idea of where to plant it, but I really like the chart she has. I subscribed….need all the help I can get!

Love Notes

