on my needles

image

I started this summer top I found on Ravelry for Ava. Asked Dee what she thought about it….I’m stuck at starting the sleeves. She said the pattern reads more like a recipe. I’m glad to know it’s not just me.

If anyone can offer tips or suggestions, please share them with me. Remember, I’m new at this knitting.

We took our first library trip in our new city. The girls were excited to get their own cards so they could check out their chosen books and dvds.

I came home with Say You’re One of Them. By Uwem Akpan. It was in Oprah’s book club back in 2009.
The author didn’t waste any time getting to the point.
In the first few pages you learn about this street family in Africa, where the 12yr old daughter is a prostitute. Wow.

Joining Ginny.

8 thoughts on “on my needles

  1. Pingback: on my needles | The Mahogany Way

  2. The pattern’s not bad, you just have to know how raglan works. I would start by casting on 100 stitches. Knit four rows in the round with moss stitch. That’s just knit one purl one, and on the next row, purl the knit stitches and knit the purls, etc for four rows. You could also do this in one by one ribbing to simplify it. When you have a neck that you like, knit two rows in the round. Then, by placing markers, you are going to “divide for the sleeves”.

    Starting at your marker, knit 20, place a marker, knit 30, place a marker, knit 20, place a marker, knit 30 and you should be back at your original marker. (It sometimes helps to use markers of one colour to mark one sleeve and markers of another colour for the second sleeve. So in that case, whatever colour marker you started with, knit 20, place a marker of that same colour, knit 30, place a marker of another colour, knit 20, place a marker the same as the second, knit the 30 back stitches and you will be back to the original marker.)

    I find her increases for the raglans difficult. I prefer to knit to one stitch before markers, kfb (knit in the front and back of the stitch), move the marker, kfb again. That said, doing it like she is describing makes a much more even increase because really, the increases should be “matched” with right and left increases. So… from there, it’s just like she writes it. Essentially, what you need to remember is that before every stitch marker, you are doing a YO, then a K1 and after every marker you are doing a YO K1.

    So your first increase row will write out like this:

    Slip Marker, K1, YO, K19, YO, K1, SM, K1, YO, K29, YO, K1, SM, K1, YO, K19, YO, K1, SM, K1, YO, K29, YO, K1. After that K1, you should be back at your first marker.

    Knit a row.

    On every other row, you will be following the above pattern, just modifying the number of stitches between each K1, YO, YO, K1, SM. What you do there is just knit to the last stitch before the marker and YO. So each subsequent increase row will really read:

    Slip Marker, K1, YO, K to one stitch before marker, YO, K1, SM, K1, YO, K to one stitch before marker, YO, K1, SM, K1, YO, K to one stitch before marker, YO, K1, SM, K1, YO, K to one stitch before marker, YO, K1. After that K1, you should be back at your first marker.

    She’s really right about fit… just knit till the sleeves come together nicely under the arms and the body is wide enough for your daughter!

    I’m going to leave you here… if you want me to help with the rest of it (I don’t like how she’s written out the sleeve closure, for instance) email me! I hope this helped!! GOOD LUCK!!

    • OMG. I can’t believe you typed out the pattern for me ! You’re awesome! This helps a lot….thanks so much! That reads like a pattern. I’m going to give it a go, and I’ll let you know when I get to the end.

      • You are so welcome!

        In re reading it this morning, I think I messed up this line:

        “Essentially, what you need to remember is that before every stitch marker, you are doing a YO, then a K1 and after every marker you are doing a YO K1.”

        Disregard it! haha! I know that the typed out line that follows it is correct because I did it on paper. Let me know if it doesn’t work. Email any time!

    • Thanks! I don’t know the actual name, but I call it my watermelon yarn. Dee did my header 🙂 I’m going to attempt the sleeves today. If I can’t figure it out soon, I’m going to rip it out and try another pattern.

Love Notes

