The Little Things

That’s why I blog.

image

I passed my three year blogiversary on May 9th, or was it the 12th? I didn’t have any goals in mind for how long this space would be kept. I knew that I wanted to share our life in words and pictures.

So I started blogging….actually I started another blog in the spring of 2009. Thinking it’s time I imported it over here, that way I can have all my memories in this one space. I love to write, always have. I remember keeping several diaries as a kid on into my teenage years.

If it weren’t for this blog, I would’ve forgotten the time Nakiah talked about wanting to live there,  or what Ava said on her 4th birthday.
I don’t think I’ll ever forget my first big outing with the kids just weeks after Samuel was born. There’s also the times I’ve talked about my struggle with depression. Maybe the details will fade from all my memories, but I’m glad I have a gazillion pictures to remind me…along with the words.

I love being able to go back and see how my writing style has changed, my thought patterns on certain issues. My deep and not so deep thoughts. The joys and challenges of motherhood, and wonder where am I going from here?

I love this community you all have helped me build over the years. Your comments, emails, tweets, and messages on Facebook. When I step back and take it all in, I feel really humbled. I’m thankful for all of you that continue to follow my family year after year. You all have been with me through two pregnancies and births!

I’m also thankful for the new readers, and new blogs I’ve had the pleasure of coming across recently.

All of the interviews(Bamboo Magazine is one) people have asked me to take part in, the blog carnivals, and all the new opportunities that have come my way recently….so very humbling, and amazing.

I’m not exactly sure what the future holds for this blog. I’m sure my style will continue to change, the content will change as I grow, and the kids too! I have no plans of stopping anytime soon. I’m excited to see what’s next!

Sometimes keeping up this space is hard work, and I forget why I started this blog. Then I go back to read old posts, and I’m reminded of all the little things, and that’s why I keep blogging.

Thank you for continuing to tune in to our adventures.

8 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. Three years is an accomplishment! I’m new to your space, but it’s absolutely lovely. Your words about blogging really struck a cord with me. I think we’re of one mind. 🙂

  2. What a sweet photo! Love the collections of spades and shovels. Congrats on the bloggiversary. Thanks for sharing your heart!

Love Notes

