With Friends

Saturday:

Started with a walk to the corner store….the kids wanted to buy something with their dollars from Mamaw(my mom).

image

Stopped at a church yard sale and picked up a dvd for the kids.

Dee called on our way back home.She needed to get out of the house, and I needed company. Problem solved…..and I love hosting!

We talked blogs, twitter, crafting, decorating, gardening, and life in general.

Good times are always had with her family.

image

Charles took the kids back to the faux beach area after work. Called about an hour later to have me meet them to watch the fireworks for Harbor Fest.

I really love this charming and historical neighborhood.

****

Sunday:

Erika came over with her girls, and she came bearing gifts. Ice cold Coca Cola for the moms!

I didn’t tell the kids they were coming. I love surprising them.

The kids played with a few minor disagreements mixed in, but they were quickly resolved. It was back to love and light in no time.

Mama’s relaxed on the couch,in the kitchen, a few moments outside, and talked…. then laughed and talked…then laughed…and talked some more.

I invited her to stay for dinner and she accepted. She’s cooked for me many times.

After she left, we played Toy Story Memory with the girls.

image

Samuel was busy looking like an Angel…

image

We read books to the girls. Kiah kept wanting one more. I chose Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh, From our read aloud book along.
Kiah said mom, my eyes are getting tired, but can you still read? “
Her eyes weren’t the only ones getting tired. Not even four pages later, and Charles and Ava were asleep.

Here I sit at 1am….blogging,watching and listening to my family sleep, planning our Monday, and ultimately enjoying the quiet.

What a great weekend!

{Linking up with Amanda}

4 thoughts on “With Friends

  1. What a great weekend… I love hosting too. I think, in many ways, it’s a ton more fun than going. We have the Rats of Nimh home from the library, but I don’t know if we are going to get into this month’s read along… it’s a busy out door time for us, and when we haven’t had a yard in so long, we are soaking it in as much as possible!

    • The first time I tried to read that book to them, they said they were bored after two pages. I knew it might be too much for them, but figured it wouldn’t hurt to try. We have the other book and they loved that one. We’ll see how Nimh goes over the next few weeks.

      I feel you on having a yard. We love ours too!

Love Notes

