Hello again

image

The summer seems to be flying by… and I’m still stressed about several things…not having insurance, our van is on it’s last leg. I go back and forth between believing everything is going to work out and then back to worrying and feeling a little scared. There is good news…I’ve found several clinics and dentist offices that go by your income. So we’re taking the kids in this week. That makes me feel so much better, especially with all the asthma troubles Samuel has been having lately.

We went to church Sunday and really enjoyed it! That’s when the above photo was taken. The girls loved their Sunday school classes and they haven’t stopped talking about them since. It was really important that we find a church with a solid children’s ministry. It’s hard for them to sit through service and I didn’t want them to he bored and not like or not want to go to church. I can say that it feels good to be finding my faith again….and this could be the church we settle into. At this stage in my life being a Christian and going to church is about spirituality and not religion. I was wrapped up in religion for so long. Maybe I’ll do a post about my past church/faith/religious experiences.

We’ve been home much more because of issues with the van. We’re holding up ok for now and have library and beach trips planned for the days Charles is off work. There’s a few things near us to keep us busy. We have our backyard, walking around the neighborhood, our faux beach down the street….and all the puzzles, coloring and such. We’ll probably have some friends over soon. While some things aren’t going the way I thought or planned for the summer to go, we’ve also had a few pleasant surprises. I’m trying really hard to focus on the positive in my life….there’s actually a lot of it! I’m a naturally pessimistic person and I don’t like admitting that… so it’s work for me to be positive, but I’m getting better at it.

8 thoughts on “Hello again

  1. I hope your van troubles let up soon. I am so happy you found some good health care for the kiddos!! Asthma is scary but can be controlled. I know as I have asthma and so do two of my four. Even my husband has it. The kiddos look great. I would love to hear about your past experiences. Our brains are rigged to be negative; that is how we survived for so long, but it can also make you feel pretty bad. I look at the cup being half empty first and have to train myself to see it as half-full. It is challenging to focus on the positive and choose happiness. Sometimes my brain tricks me into thinking I have to be upset or I am “cheating” in some way. Keep your head up. I have you and your fam in my thoughts.
    xo

    • We have family asthma here too. The girls seem to be doing better as they get older. I’m getting a little tired of this season of life…with our problems one after the other, but I remind myself that this too shall pass.

      I think I will write about my religious history. Maybe it will help me sort through some of my beliefs and feelings. Thanks for keeping us in your thoughts.

  2. Well, I’m glad to hear that you all have found a new church and some great doctors and healthcare places. We’ve been keeping you all in prayer. It really makes a difference when you’re focusing more on the positive and putting faith in God to work out the negative.

    • That is so true. I’ve been focusing on the wrong things for far too long. I think my circumstances are just what I needed to remind me of what’s important. Thanks for the prayers.

  3. I have my fingers crossed that your car troubles disappear! Your family looks so lovely in the photo-and what happy looking children!! That is something money cannot buy.

  4. Hi lady! I love seeing those gorgeous kids, makes me smile every time. You keep holding onto your blessings and you’ll pull through this rough patch, you’re already halfway there *hugs*

    • Thank you for that. One of my friends back home said the same thing to me yesterday. It’s hard to hold on when you feel it’s only by a thread. I’m holding on tight anyway.

Love Notes

