Thinking

Feeling a little off lately. I think it’s a combination of the seasons changing. I love Fall….it’s my favorite season, but every year o start to feel a little down. The days are shorter already and there’s this feeling in the air that I can’t quite describe. I’ve been thinking of caramel apples, hot chocolate with marshmallows, and cooler weather.
Wearing high heel-knee length boots, or boots of any kind.  Yup, I love Fall.

image

I was watching the kids play out front yesterday and they were so happy, completely in the moment….how do they do that? I’ve been watching how they play and interact with each other. Wondering if they’re picking up on my mood. Looking for signs of unhappiness. Always wondering if I’m being a good mom. Am I being the mom they need? Kiah came into the kitchen last night, put her arms around me and told me she loved me.

I like to sit back and just observe them sometimes. Remembering what it was like to be a kid, trying to get back to living in the moment and not bring tomorrow’s possible troubles into today.

image

Samuel observing a bug

image

I’ve been thinking some tall therapy would be great, but I can’t afford it right now. Talking with friends, blogging, and knitting will suffice.  Several people have suggested exercise. I know it would help and it would give me a more incentive to get up before everyone else. I really like my sleep though. But even an hour alone in the mornings could help.

Trying to come up with ways to generate extra income from home. Seriously considering selling whatever I can make. I have a ton of ideas swirling around in my head if I decided to open an etsy shop. It will take a lot of time and work. I’ve thought about it off and on for months now. I suppose I could step out on faith…if it doesn’t work out at least I tried. And I can go on making things for my family.

For now I’m starring at this pretty patons wool yarn trying to decide what to make with it. Cause I need a 5th or would this be 6th project on my needles? The chocolate is there simply because it tastes good and its my chocolate of choice for the moment.

image

3 thoughts on “Thinking

  1. I know I’ve mentioned that selling your knitting creations would make a great way to make some side income and I’m glad you’re considering it. From the pics I’ve seen, you’re really good at it and you love doing it. Plus, with winter coming up you could start taking custom orders for scarves and hats. Also, if you didn’t want to go the etsy route you could always setup a page here on the blog as a storefront or use tripod.com.

    As for whether or not you’re being a good mom, it sounds like you’re doing a fab job in that department. Your kids sound and look like they’re happy. They love and adore you so that’s proof in and of itself that you’re doing something right. And I was watching Dr Oz about how a lot of women get a little down during the fall months. He says it has to do with not getting enough light.

    His recommendations were to use brighter light bulbs during the nighttime, getting lots of natural sunlight during the day and steering clear of wearing dark colors like black, deep chocolates, dark blues but lean more towards the oranges and reds. Hope that bit helps!

    • I’m making plans to go ahead with my own shop. I’ll probably stick with 2-3 things for now and branch out later. Thanks for the ideas and vote of confidence!

      The cooler months have always been hard for me. I’ve been trying to get one of those special light lamps for people with depression, but using a higher watt bulb might do the same thing.

  2. I’m not feeling too hot today either. I hope I didn’t catch something at the hospital yesterday. I think you’re right about doing some exercise or anything, for that matter, would be a good getaway. I started walking to our community gym after cleaning up after dinner. All I need is 20 minutes away and it’s been nice. 🙂

    I hope you get out of your funk.

Love Notes

