on my needles

image

I have several projects going right now. Two are almost finished and the rest seem to be so slow going….maybe I have too much going on at once? Ah well, it’s keeping me busy and makes me happy.

The solid orange is a cotton cowl, the mixture of fall colors is a wool crochet scarf. I tried knitting with that color way before and every time I thought the way the colors ran together was just butt ugly. Loving the way it looks with crochet. The red is the same chunky red heart cotton….in seed stitch on size 17 needles. And last but not least is a cotton/wool skinny cowl on size 8’s. It’s Red Heart Boutique Treasure in Spectrum…..the way the colors run together is so beautiful. I thought it was the perfect winter colorway.

I’ve even managed a small amount of reading this last week. Free To Learn: Five Ideas For A Joyful Unschooling Life.
I’ve been reading this off and on for a while. Think I’ll finish it soon.
I had to take Shine Shine Shine back to the library and wasn’t able to finish it, but I’m going to check it out again….I was halfway done!

Edited to add: I’m joining in a twitter knitalong with Dee and Angela. It started October 1st and ends whenever you finish….I have not cast on for this yet. Hoping to pick up my yarn this weekend. This cowl will be all mine…..I’m excited to knit and wear it. Join us!

Joining Ginny for Yarn Along.

14 thoughts on “on my needles

  1. Pingback: on my needles | The Mahogany Way

  2. your knitting projects are coming along! i’m always surprised at how much they grow when it feels like i never have time to knit more than a row here and there 😉

  3. That unschooling book looks really interesting! Perfect new school year inspiration, I’m in need of some already 🙂
    I love the purply colourway cowl. So many beautiful projects on your needles!

    • Thanks. I’m having so much fun being creative with yarn….wish I had started years ago. I really like the unschooling book. The author has her own website on unschooling as well.

  4. I’ve enjoyed a lot of Holt and other unschooly books, but haven’t read the one you are reading. Definitely have to check it out! Thanks for sharing your WIPs, they look like they’re all off to great starts!

    • Thanks…I really need to finish one before I start another.

      This book is a simple read and she makes unschooling easy to understand. If you like Holt, you’ll like this one.

  5. Beautiful. I just started my first project of the season too. A simple tube scarf with Cascade 220 scraps. I’ll probably make my children socks for Christmas, too. Any patterns you’d recommend? I like a boring, top-down sock.

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. That is quite an impressive group of knitting you have going there Darcel. Knitting really is addictive isn’t it? Can’t wait to see you modeling your cow!

    • I’m giddy just thinking about the yarn for this project. Looking for something pretty and inexpensive.

      That cowl has purple in it but I couldn’t get it to show.

Love Notes

