Hello

How was your New Years Day?  Ours was very low- key. The kids did their usual playing of video games, coloring, I did some knitting, and I believe there was an NCIS marathon on that day, it’s one of my favorite shows. I watched that, not the kids….the kids watched My Little Pony and Go Diego Go sort of shows.   I stayed up sipping Moscato, explaining New Years to the girls and why we make such a big deal about it. Samuel fell asleep about 30 minutes before midnight.

I didn’t plan on not blogging for this long. I’ve been enjoying not feeling chained to the internet and I’m possibly learning better time management when it comes to the world-wide web. Honestly, I haven’t had much to say.

IMAG3249 IMG_20121230_150900 IMG_20121231_133822 IMG_20130102_130829 IMG_20130102_220516I feel like the kids have suddenly grown older the last couple of weeks. Nakiah did just have a birthday, but it’s more than that. I think she may be taller than me in the next two years, and I’m only 5’3ish. She’s been really into sharks again lately, so there have been lots of YouTube videos on shark anatomy, shark attacks, what do sharks eat, where do sharks live, what kinds of sharks are there, etc. She’s usually the last kid asleep so we’ve had shark talk off and on for the last week.

She’s lost two or three teeth in the last 2 months. Ava has also last two teeth in the last two months….the tooth fairy has been busy over here. Ava looks older and she’s gotten taller, fitting into some of her sisters clothes that fit her not to long ago. My tall girls. She’s always skipping, twirling, singing and dancing around the house. Sometimes she sings songs she knows, but most of the time they are songs that she’s made up.
Samuel is growing way too fast for me. He’s 2.5yrs and is on the move non-stop along with talking from the time he wakes up until he goes to sleep…all day – every day. I could hear them arguing over something the other day and I was getting ready to step in when they stopped. Then I heard Ava say “Samuel, do you forgive me?” “I forgive you Aba” That’s not a typo, he really calls her Aba sometimes. That made me smile. They play hard, fight hard, love hard.

I’m trying something new and we’ll see how long it lasts. I’m trying to change my eating habits and  cut back on the amount of sugar I consume on a daily basis, eating smaller portioned meals, and I was able to get out for a walk to the store today. I would like to lose weight, but more importantly, I want to be healthier. What else… My locs are growing and I’ve had them in for a little over a year. I would like to dye them, we’ll see.

So that’s a little of what’s been going on around here. I’m keeping myself fairly busy, outside of taking care of the children, I’m making more time for myself. Even if it’s something small like buying myself a pack of blush at the store today, relaxing with a glass of wine and knitting a few rows while the kids wind down for the evening, and soaking up some vitamin D when the sun comes out.

How’s 2013 treating you so far?

17 thoughts on “Hello

  1. Love the photos, my dear! Especially the one of your little one drawing. I just love kid art. We have so much hanging up around our house…it’s a little embarrassing. ; )
    Happy New Year Pretty Woman!
    C

  2. Glad to hear you had a peaceful New Year. I’m planning on cutting right down on my sugar this year too. I know I always feel better when I restrict sugars in my diet. Not easy though, I have quiet a sweet tooth 🙂
    Glad to see you back 🙂 I’ve took an extended sabbatical over the holiday season too. It was nice to “unplug” for a bit 🙂

  3. I’m liking the new look here on the blog. Sounds like the kids are growing like weeds. Isn’t crazy how much they change over the course of a few months? And in a year’s time, they become different people. Glad to hear that you are getting more time for yourself. So far our 2013 is going well.

  4. Hey you, good to “see” you. Love the cowl, I can’t wait to purchase one. here in WI they will come in very handy. I am glad you are finding your footing. I am supposed to be detoxing here soon and begin my new routine as well, maybe we can encourage each other along . Sending major love your way.

Love Notes

