Spring Fever

There were two days this week where it was in the 60’s and 70’s….it gave me Spring Fever. We took the kids to the beach(kinda weird since it snowed not too long ago) on the warmer of the two days. It’s been eight months or longer since we’ve been. Days later and I’m enjoying the flashbacks of our beach trip. It’s the kind of place that stays with you after you leave.
I forgot how nice Grommet Island is.



IMAG3460
IMAG3462
IMAG3474

IMAG3470

We took a break from the playground area for a few minutes to check out a pet tortoise. He was 15yrs old. His owner said someone found him on the boardwalk and gave him to her.  He was so cool!

IMG_20130130_173832Ava wanted to put her feet in the water. I told her it would be freezing but she didn’t care.

IMAG3483

When I saw Nakiah sitting up here I asked if I could take her picture. She quickly posed and went back to climbing up the wave and jumping off of it.

IMAG3481

I don’t think my dad knew I snapped this picture of him helping Samuel with the toy digger.

IMAG3479

IMAG3477

walktheline

As always –  the beach allowed me to forget about my problems for a while. The sound of the waves, the sand between my toes, watching and listening to the kids laugh and play.
We’re going to spend as much time as we can at the beaches this summer.

12 thoughts on “Spring Fever

  1. I just found your blog tonight while researching unschooling. I’m already homeschooling my first grader, with 3 younger kids as well. I was pleasantly surprised to find out about this park because I never knew about it and we live in Virginia Beach as well! Just moved here last summer from upstate New York. I am really enjoying your blog!

    • Hi Toni, glad you found me and are enjoying the blog. There’s a huge homeschooling community here. If you would like I can email you and put you in touch with friends that homeschool as well.

  2. Aw man I could use a beach day right about now. I’m in northern New Jersey and we are in the middle of a blizzard. UGH!! You just eloped me get away for a moment and that tortoise was amazing!! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Hey girl, looks like fun, we had some warm days but the kids just made mud pies, lots lots of puddles. I am soo happy you have family support right now. I know it’s bittersweet as they take on roles you hadn’t planned, but it is great to have a soft place to land. Did I tell you I’m over winter already. Whining in WI

    • Mine made mud pies on the first warm day. I think that’s a childhood favorite. I feel you on being over winter…I’m ready for warm breezes and sunshine.

Love Notes

